Options

Speed Training

Forgive me for being thick as I'm new to speed training and am not sure if I've got the right idea.

I'm following a RW schedule but so far have wimped out of doing any speedwork because I'm a plodder and thought that speed work wasn't for the likes of me.

Anyway, I decided that obviously, the only way to get faster is to do speedwork and run faster doh!

Last nights session was 12 x 200m with 90secs recovery.

Now, for the 200m should you run as fast as you possibly can, or just a bit faster than normal.

Please clarify for me, coz if I'm gonna do it I want to do it right. Right?

Comments

• Options
    You need to be able to maintain pace throughout the session.

very short (200m) reps with longish rests (90s) will probably allow you to go much faster than normal running, but still way short of an all out sprint.

I would say 60s rest is more common on short reps - it takes a lot of mental fortitude to get through speed sessions that last a long time, so shorter rests can be easier to handle in a way.

I love 200m repeats and think they are highly beneficial, so I hope you find them helpful too!

Personally, I sometimes start with a few shorter recoveries (30secs or so) and slip back to 60sec rests once I'm working hard. Maintaining pace is the crucial factor though, whatever your approach.

Tough on the body - so take it easy and don't do it too often (once a week for short reps and once a week for long reps works well for lots of people)

• Options
    I agree, short recoveries are great but, if you are new to speed work I would recommend starting with 2mins rest.

Also 12 reps may be too many(maybe 8). As you get used to it you can either reduce the recovery or increase the reps.
  • Options
    Hi Dolly. You don't say what RW schedule you're following??

You can have a number of different paces depending on what sort of race distance you are training for.