Options

Warm up and down

Last week I started training for the Great North Run 04.I am a beginner and am making, I feel, good progress jogging/walking. The problem is I don.t have a specific routine for warming up or cooling down( stetching etc.) If any one could give me advise or a routine I would be really grateful. Also I have only found a 16 week taining schedule for the half marathon and the GNR04 is at the back end of September .What do I do when I reach the end of my schedule ?

Comments

• Options
    Hi Smy

I see from your profile that you are a beginner. I am no expert, have only been running for 18 months and run primarily to stay fit and healthy but this would be my advice.

1. For warm up, walk briskly for the first 5 minutes of your workout, then jog slowly for 5/10 minutes then increase your pace to your training pace. The advice I have read is not to stretch prior to your run, as stretching cold muscles can lead to injury. If you do have any tight muscles stretch them lightly after your 15 minutes walk/jog before starting at your training pace.

2. For warm down, reverse the warm up procedure. Slow from your training pace to a slow jog for 5/10 minutes and then down to a brisk walk, slowing down to normal walking pace for 5 minutes. At this point or asap after stopping do your stretching routine, as your muscles will be warmed up and pliable.