Options

Runners Diet

Okay,

I'm an absolute beginner to running (started Dec 03), have become addicted and now find myself entered into a couple of 10ks in April, June and then the GNR in September. With this in mind I really could do with some nutritional advice from you guys because at the moment i don't know my a** from my atkins..

I'm 6ft2 and weigh about 81kgs (or 178lb in old money). I'm currently running about five times a week and covering approx 30 miles in total, added to this i weight train twice and play badminton once a week.

My question is how much should i be eating? I've tried doing the 1600 calories a day diet suggested in some men's health magazines and to be honest, although i did lose weight i was very hungry. I also tried Atkins and found it didnt suit me at all (talk about constipation). My goals, before you ask, are to lose perhaps a little weight but specifically to tone up and get a little fitter.

Any suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    BodBod ✭✭✭
    Darnay

I wouldn't get hung up on diet just yet, you need to fuel your running first. Just try to eat the right stuff and get plenty of carbs. When you consider that a 1hr run will burn nigh on 1000 calories it's clear that you'll feel hungry on 1600/day. Normal for a bloke is about 2500 and you may need more like 3000.

Be comfortable about running and eating, you may find you don't have to do anything special to eat, I lost 2st eating loads but no chips, chocs or crisps. If it doesn't work then start to reduce calorie intake.
  • Options
    Darnay - plenty of advice etc on the diet support thread on UFRWFRC (although hard to find amoungst the normal chat). I think the successful approach is to eat sensibly, cut out the crap and reduce the beer. Otherwise eat as normal.

I find calorie counting (well I would cause I ain't even tried) desperately demoralising although it works for some....

Just keep at it..and the results will show!
  • Options
    Hi Darnay