Options

My half marathon training ruined by a stupid hamstring

Like the title says I pulled my hamstring yesterday and now I'm not able to train for the Croydon half in April (2017).  I was recently made redundant and I was able to drop my daughter at school run and do the house chores or some IT training, I'm an IT Engineer so it worked well.  My neighbour who is a keen runner and Ultra competitor suggested I have the time so I should train for a full or half marathon, I didn't feel a full marathon was the one for me and a half would be better so I started to follow the Nike+ app on my phone.  I was getting out running come rain, snow or frost and getting home stretching and heading to a nice hot shower.

All was going well until 2 days ago when I could feel a little niggle while moving about or even just sitting.  I thought I should do some more stretching or head to the foam roller which seemed to help.  

Then yesterday disaster!  I could feel a twinge of something while I jogged home slowly from a speed work session.  As soon as it came it went, it was like a light prick from an errant paperclip and I knew I was in trouble.  Yesterday getting in and out of the car was awkward and sitting was a little uncomfortable.  Today I feel OK, I don't feel great and I know I can't run but I feel OK.  I'm wearing a thigh strap which I guess is helping but with only 9 weeks and 3 days left for training, will I be OK and be able to do this?  Will I have a mental block of not wanting to push myself and get the job done?  Will I be able to compete or even complete the course?

I want to run, I want to run up the stairs at home, I want to run with my 7 year old when she's on her bike.  But I know right now I can't or I'll damage myself.  I think that's the worst of it, I know I can do it but I mustn't because the knock on effects are too much.

Comments

• Options

hi,

your frustration is something that all runners can relate to.

• Options