Options

Newbie 5k speed strategy

Hi all, I'm relatively new to running. 5 months ago I weighed 340lbs and couldn't walk 50m due to severe back pain. Today I weigh 244lbs and did my first 5k park run!

I 'ran' the whole distance without stopping as I always do when running alone, however I am painfully slow. 41 min today which is a lot faster than I expected.

I noticed there were a lot of runners running faster than me, but then walking for a bit. Is run faster/walk a better strategy than slow and steady the whole 5k?

I'm not currently doing speed training although I'm going to start intervel training this week.

Comments

• Options
    Hello Mrs Yurtle - well done for getting into the sport - it's a life-changer for sure.

About the speed though, Please do not concern yourself with time as it's only one measure of the run. We loathe to draw reference to it, BUT most especially if you're a larger lady - your body has to strengthen itself to carry the 200kg a great deal before you can look at speed.

Get used to the action of fast forward motion first, and let your body get accustomed to efficient energy production. You'll know exactly when you can start pushing.

You'll not be painfully slow forever. That's a promise. We all started in the same place.
  • Options
    Thanks for the reply. I've been going at a steady slow speed for a few months now I'm certainly ready to push it a bit. I may be large but I'm a strong lady! :)

This morning I tried running at a speed I'd like to run at, I can only hold it for 100-200m before having to walk for a few seconds, then repeat. I want to keep trying this and gradually increase distance at the faster pace.

I'm still wondering about those who run/walk the 5k, is it better than slow steady plodding?
  • Options