Options

This guy must take us all for idiots!

2»

Comments

• Options
    fat buddhafat buddha ✭✭✭
    this is now getting like nerds corner!!!
  • Options
    WombleWomble ✭✭✭
    He said he had been vindicated by the court. Not quite sure how he worked that out when they also said he was 75% responsible for his own dismissal.

Perhaps all the passengers could go on strike if they give him a job.
  • Options
    Sounds like a good life being a train driver. Where do I apply ?
  • Options
    That report report refers to a high speed train on use on the overground lines, not the underground. Admittedly it was back in the eighties and things might have changed since then, but I was an apprentice electrical engineer on the underground system based at Acton Town. We spent several months learning about the signalling and safety systems in use. The trains were generally fitted with two handles, one was an accelerator/deccelerator, the so-called "deadmans handle", the second was a brake handle. As far as I can remember, there were no foot pedals fitted at least up until the 1986 stock as used on the Jubilee line.

The foot pedal in the article refers to an interlock switch which applies the emergency brakes if it isn't depressed every 30 seconds or so.
  • Options
    Cor dear old LUL's training center at Acton Town.... many happy days spent there
  • Options
    Er yeah. I knew that.

<goes back to play closer attention to his Thomas the Tank videos>
  • Options
    Quick...rename the site Trainspotters World......

eek!
  • Options
    astonishing, really. Me, I went into work 5 days after breaking my arm in 2 places and having an op to insert steel plates to keep it arm-shaped. And do I have a job right now? do I flip. and yet numbskulls like this little twonk.....that makes me so cross.
  • Options
    DTS - was it the Apprentice Training Centre you were at? When?

Hated the place myself...
  • Options