Options

Sports drinks

Which sports drinks to people use and why ? and do they help with the running at the moment I dont use one but I think they would help ? any advice would be good cheers heps

Comments

• Options
    I tend to train using the sports drink that my next race uses. However I generally use powerade as I can drink it without upsetting my stomach while out on a run. You could try different ones to see which suits you and that you like the taste of.

Sports drinks are recommended if you are running over an hour.
  • Options
    ATB - Should you drink it before your run ? (Sorry I've never used sports drinks before - i'm a newbie, and have only just started calling myself a runner).
    I run for about 1 1/2 hours (run & walk a bit) should I be using sports drinks?
  • Options
    Mr BumpMr Bump ✭✭✭
    I always used to use Isostar, but eventually found it was a bit expensive and so on recommendation I tried High 5. Have had no problems with High 5 and would recommend their products.

I use High 5 Energy before and during a run and High 5 Protein recovery after a hard or long run.
  • Options
    I have a bottle of Lucosade Sport on my walk home from the train station. Thats about 20-30 mins before I'm changed and out running. I hate the orange one though. Summer berry is my favourite. I've also got hooked on that new Lucosade flavoured water plus stuff. Like to have one particualry after running in the heat.
  • Options
    Hi Heps.

I like Lucozade sport.

I would recommend that for a run of about 1 and half hours you have about a third to a half of the bottle 5 to 10 mins before you go out for run and then taker the rest of the bottle with you and have a few sips every 15 or 20 mins. The rule is to drink it to stop you getting exhausted and dehydrated. If you leave it 'till you're already knackered its too late for it to do any good and that's your run ruined.
  • Options