Options

Biddenham 10k

Hello there - this is my first message on the board. I am entering the Biddenham 10k in Bedford and would be interested to hear from anybody who knows a bit about the event - flat or hilly, terrain etc. I've only done one 10k this summer and that was in London Docklands in a time of 53 mins, so I'm no pro! Any thoughts appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    Yes I've run it for the last 3 years and really like it. It is all off-road after the first kilometre although the second half is mainly down a concrete pathway next to the river. The first half is track or across fields and generally not too muddy although there are a couple of places where it can be. Most is alongside the river and scenic - more so than Docklands. Generally flat although slightly uphill near the end. The facilities are good and generally it has been a very nice autumn day (fairly warm). Reasonable turn out but not huge numbers. See you there. Not sure how you are travelling but it is just outside Bedford on the west side. If you travelled by train to the main Bedford station it would be a bit of a jog to the venue but not huge.
  • Options
    Hi!
    I've run this for three years now, too. It was the first run I ever did and I really likes it. It can get muddy, and you have to cross a couple of stiles, but there is a great athosphere and the facilities are very good. My best time was aroud 49 minutes.
  • Options
    Paul
    Are you the Paul Brooks from BJC?
    Nick
  • Options
    Nick,

The very same. Didn't know you were a runner Nick. If you are still in Cheddington then this is a local run for you.
  • Options
    Paul, Linda - you obviously know this run, so please advise - I'm considering doing this run - never done a 10k before, so am guessing at a time of 60+ mins. Is this race suitable for 'beginners' like me or is it a serious one??
  • Options
    Hello, Jo!