Options

You don't have to slow down when you reach 40!

I've been running since June 2001 and I must say that I do not subscribe (yet) to the notion that you get slower as you get older. I am setting PBs at every race I take part in: 1/2 marathon, marathon, triathlon (all distances). I heven't got below 37 minutes for 10k yet, but there is still time!

What works for me? Train smarter not harder. Take rest days but make it active rest. Vary the types of training you do. ENJOY IT!

Rich.

Comments

• Options
    Oh god, not another "smarter not harder" thread.

No matter how old you are when you start you'll improve for approximately 3 years. There's no secret formula. Its just the way it is. Come back in 2005 and tell us how you're getting on.
  • Options
    I'm 41 and I've been running for 3 years. I got another the pb for 5 miles on Sunday - 31:06. I know that when I started, I spent a lot of time plodding along at a comfortable pace. I enjoyed this but I wasn't getting any faster. I'm currently concentrating on improving speed and I find that I now enjoy that too. So, I go along with Richard on this. I have club mates who also took up running later in life and found they peaked in their 50s. One of these ran 2:50 in the FLM in 2002 - only 2 minutes slower than 20 years earlier!
  • Options
    HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    Apparently you can expect to make improvements for at least 10 years after you take up running. So it seems you have a few good years still to go!!

Happy running all!
  • Options
    Just had another look at my reply to Richard Norris and realised it reads extrememly snotty. I didnt mean it to sound QUITE so nasty Richard

Sorry Richard. I'm particularly sorry if, as I suspect, you're new to the forum. Whatever my thoughts on the subject there was no excuse for rudeness.
  • Options
    Richard,
    I started running about 30 years ago when I got too feeble to play rugby anymore. (and it wasn't so rough in those days either).