Very Sore Nipples - What Can I Do?

My last couple of runs have resulted in very sore nipples. Being a novice I really don't know what to do. I thought of plasters but my chest is way too hairy - don't fancy pulling them off.

What else can I do?? As I sit here at work they feel as hot as the sun.

HELP

Comments

• COuple of options-
    either vaseline or paraffin gel over them- but does rub off- or plaster them over c plaster or tape. The pain of removing the tape will be far less from the pain of abrased nipples I promise !
    Make sure also wear a proper lightweight non rubbing vest to help.
  • It's a common problem Dolphin - I personally use vaseline, couldn't get on with plasters for the hairy chest reason. There's also a product called BodyGlide that has been recommended on the forum before.

If you try vaseline, be sure to smear on loads of it before the run.

I've never found a cure once I've got sore nipples though - you just have to live with it!
  • Just take the pain - mmmmm pain.

Only kidding, vaseline and a light top as said will be fine!
  • Thanks for the replies peeps.

Vaseline it is.

Some forms of pain whilst running can be rewarding - but nipples must be my weakness.

Ooh Err Misses!
  • D,

only problem with vaseline etc is that it can mark your clothes even after washing.

Try using "Micropor" (spelling's a bit off here) its a medical plaster that comes in rolls but does not have the death grip of plasters when being pulled off. Much better alternative. (Also only remove during apre run bath/shower helps)

Snail
  • BTS

Thanks for the tip - already been to Boots and bought a roll. £1.39 for 5 metres - that's a lot of nipple!

Cheers, Dolphin.
  • or try nip-guards TM available from any good running shop
  • You also want to look at the material of your tops. Have a look around for a nice softish fabric rather than a harsh mesh type. Avoid cotton like the plague.