Options

Last few days before FLM

As a first timer to marathon running, I am wondering whether it would be worth me booking the friday before off work and having a nice relaxing day, maybe go for a massage? What are you guys all doing, and any suggestions for an ideal preparation?

Comments

• Options
    Hello mate...this is my first time as well. Unfortunately i will be working until 4pm on Friday. I'm travelling down to London early Saturday to pick up my number and then having a lazy afternoon in the hotel checking out the pool and sauna.
    My advice is to take it easy on the Friday and perhaps have a short 20 minute easy run to keep the legs working. If you are going to the Expo to pick your number up on Saturday like me, then make it as early as you can and then rest. Don't spend hours and hours checking out all the stands at the show...you will kill off your legs without realising it....best of luck....Munners.
  • Options
    HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    I'm working on the Friday and again travelling on the Saturday to collect my number. I won't spend too long at the expo as it does tire you out.
  • Options
    Flying in on Friday, picking up our numbers in the afternoon, then going to a show to relax. Saturday will then be a nice lazy day, and early to bed
  • Options
    Pre race massage sounds a good idea just been searching for massage services in london , and it seems there are several :>)
  • Options
    I'm working Friday and Saturday but I'll go to bed real early Saturday night.
    As for the massage, make sure it's the right sort as the wrong sort could do you no good at all. Try one the week before and see how you feel.
    good luck.
  • Options
    If you get the chance I would say take the
    Friday off. I did - went for a five mile
    stroll - to pick up my number. Had a last
    beer and some pasta and an early night.
    Saturday - did about a mile of light
    jogging and blobbed out watching videos.