Options

Running and Cycling

I have jut moved and now cycle 8 miles to the train station and then 8 miles back at a fair pace. I have been running for 2 years but have been told by a few people that running and cycling do not mix and I will get a lot of injuries. Is this true?? What about Triathletes??

Comments

• Options
    Sounds rubbish to me. I do both and they work well together.
  • Options
    Iain, total rubbish in my opinion. I was recommended by my physio to do cycling as it helps even development of the leg muscles and prevents runners knee. I took up Triathlon's last year to have a focus for cycling and it's not caused me any problems at all.
  • Options
    Must admit running crucified me when I first started as my lungs & heart could go on lots further than my legs could, so after my first 30 mins run, I could barely walk for a week. But that's just stupidity.

I think they complement each other as they work different leg muscles.
  • Options
    I agree with Cougie- cycling for the front and running for the back of legs generally speaking. Still haven't been on the turbo trainer yet this week- I have moved it to in front of the telly but thats as far as it's got!
  • Options
    Hi, I use cycling as part of my training for running. I get injured if I run more than 3xweek so I cycle on my turbo. I do short and long intervals as well as long easy sessions on the bike and alternate them with running. It has helped me.
  • Options
    I've had to opt for cycling, rather than running at the moment due to injury, but have noticed that it's causing my hamstrings to feel quite tight. Could this be a result of my quads bulking up in relation to the hamstrings? I'm cycling pretty hard for an hour a day.
  • Options