Options

The dreaded HR monitor

I would appreciate any kind of advice on this subject as I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to using these things.

All my running as normally been done on how I feel, but on the odd occasion I've given the hr monitor a go.

Anyway, yesterday I thought I'd use it to do my hill reps hoping to get a better idea of my max hr, as I've been using the 220-age formula. Now going by this formula my max should be 181bpm (on Friday)and then obviously from this I've worked out different training zones.

On my hill reps session yesterday I couldn't get my hr above 164bpm and on the odd occasion of using the hr monitor the highest I've ever got it was 167bpm. To be truthful I don't really understand these 'stupid' things and would like some help.

My resting hr is 48.

I was going to use it on the 20 mile race on Sunday to try and stay within marathon pace-how would I do that? Or should I just forget it and carry on as I've done in the last few years?

Comments

• Options
    Hilly - think the first thing you should do is work out your real HR max. The age related method is very hit or miss. Trying to get your max is very hard work and must be followed by some rest days & should not be attempted again for several months (I try and do it twice a year).

When you know this level you can then use it to work out all sorts of other things. You can start to tell when you've got a cold coming on & other such delights.

The HR monitor is like any other computer - if you put crap in (wrong HR levels) you get crap out.

Good Luck
  • Options
    I'll second what Gary has said, although I have measured mine a few weeks apart and got the same result - but you will need to rest after doing the test - definitely !

Have you ever used it in races Hilly ? That might have given you a higher reading.
  • Options
    HillyHilly ✭✭✭