Options

Improving my stamina...

2»

Comments

• Options
    Hi Keith - what do you recommend interval wise? - i am a real newbie to running, and have just got to the stage of running for 30 mins without breaks and want to work on the stamina side of things, whats a good interval schedule? I run on either trails or track. Thanks!
  • Options
    Hiya Blonde - (that was quick!) - As usual there are loads of schools of thought on the topic of intervals. I followed a program that suggested running more of less flat out for 30 seconds then resting for 60 (or jogging recovery) and repeating ten times. You will find this pretty uncomfortable especially towards the end. I would seriously recommend that you have a solid base of slow distance running for a few months before attempting intervals because it's hard on the body.

Having said all that, I always found "fartlec" (speedplay) style intervals more fun though. You do a normal run as usual and every so often you run hard and fast and when you start getting tired you back off until recovery - you can cover alot of distance in this way :)
  • Options
    I've heard about the fartlec method and will definitley be giving it a go. Another barrier sometimes i face when running, which again hinders me sometimes is when i get a stitch. What exactly are they, why do i get them and should i keep running with a stitch, or is there a way to get rid of it? I have heard that it has something to do with drinking too much water before running, is this true?
  • Options
    I'm going with bricks'n'mortar on this one. Straw and sticks are so over rated.
  • Options