Options

Average heart rate during 5k run

Hi all, 

I'm new to running. I started running like a month ago. I do 5k twice per week at a steady pace without stopping. 

My resting heart rate is around 60-65bpm. Not sure what my max is! Nervous to find out as I heard you gotta really push it hard! 

I've got a Garmin 610, the training effect is always coming up as 5.0. My average HR is showing as 172 during my 5k runs. 

Am I to believe that I am pushing too hard even though it doesn't feel like it during and after my runs? 

My heart rate tends to go back down to around 75-80bpm 30 minutes after a run.  

Comments

• Options

Have a look here: http://www.runnersworld.co.uk/general/heart-rate-training-find-your-maximum-heart-rate/181.html

You can calculate it, without a full test. I personally think that in the early days of heart rate training, the calculation is probably close enough. If, in a bit, you feel the need to do a maximal effort test, I would do it on a treadmill: you can control the effort more effectively.

• Options

As above image HR training is a whole different ball game imo and have recently started following the HADD plan. Not knowing your MAX HR or WHR kind of defeats the object of HR training. Do as Dan suggests then when your happy maybe go for the full on run till you throw up approachimage

Unless you have a 200+ MHR I think your running too quickly during training (this is from a newbie btw so take it with a pinch of salt)

• Options