Options

My Last Run

Comments

• Options
    I think you might well beat me on that challenge JB, I think my highest WAVA in a race was 77.x (that same race last year).  I just looked up 80% and it would mean a lifetime PB over 10k for me.  Hmm.. There are 1,5 mins between 77 and 80.  Nice intervals by yourself.

Naughty DH!. 

Long mid week MLR for me 14.3 miles in 2:04.  Cold again and it took nearly a third of the run for my quads to fire properly.  I would have happily kept going at the slow end of my long run paces but increasing the pace to the final half being at the faster end of the pace range worked well.  I am defininitely getting better at keeping things going when the legs get tired.    

Took some water and a gel with me but didn't take the latter.  I could have done without the water as well but decided to practice drinking regularly as I am not good at this - I tend to wait too long and then get dehydrated.
  • Options
    I hope it's nothing, Hazel...it's annoying when the stuff that's supposed to prevent injuries actually causes them.

After a gym day yesterday, I was back out running today and I managed to do 10 miles without falling apart. Had a bit of an ache around the SI joint initially but that passed after a couple of miles, then after 6 miles or so, high ham tendon ache got more noticeable but stayed at a constant level without getting worse.
    Most noticeable thing was I don't feel particularly fit - watch (if that is to be believed) indicates HR was higher than it should be for an easy run, even though I was breathing quite slowly (on average, one breath per 8-10 strides). Hoping fitness returns if I can avoid any more downtime. Also need to lose that extra half stone. 
  • Options
    Hazel,  nice session. Interested in your reference to dehydration. I'm sure it's an issue with me but because I only do short runs I tend to overlook it.
    My 80% is by no means guaranteed, so it could well be close.....