Mountain guide selection test

Hi all,

I'm entering a mountain guide selection test in september. I've been training hard for this since 8 months now, but now I need some more specific training.

The test is two races.

First day (everything with a 15kg/33# backpack):

- you start at 1000m (3000ft), run down to sea level
- walk/jog 4-5km
- and climb back up to 1500-1700m (4500-5000ft).
- 10 minutes rest
- "various terrain" descent (rocks, cliffs and tricky slopes... very technical so you need to still have good legs... definitely not the shaking quads or whatever).

You have 5 hours to do that... but the faster you come in, the better your note.

Second day: 10-12km orienteering race in the woods and mountain sides (only the first 10 to cross the line will be allowed in the mountain guide course).

So... That might be just about what you guys are doing on sundays before lunch <g> but I need some advice for my training :)

Right now, I'm jogging 3-4 times a week (often running 8-10 kms in hills, but I can only do this since a week or so), and long hiking with a heavy bag at least once a week or whenever my body allows it.

I'm doing some fartlek and hills running to improve my Vo2 max. Now I need some advice regarding long endurance and recovery.

How can you go for 5 hours of intense exertion (mostly aerobic, I hope, but anaerobic at times in steeper slopes) and still have legs for the technical descent after that?

How can you recover from that well enough to be able to run well on a 10-12km orienteering race (in the mountains) the next day?

Are there any good training tips, sites, information, whatever regarding these aspects of training?

I have no racing experience so far (though entering a 10k in june)...

Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance...

Best regards,

David

Comments

• only one way to train for 5 hours on mountains im afraid....