Options

Moraghan Training - Stevie G

Comments

• Options

AG: I've been using the head torch quite a bit recently, albeit on paths that I know. Last night did reps in the park on the tarmac paths and tonight I ran down the river bank and nearby woods, although on decent gravel. I actually find the footing safer than running on the pavements that are currently covered in leaves or puddles. Also last night I saw only one person (walking his dog on an annoying long lead that meant he had little control over said animal); tonight I saw no-one. No pedestrians/cyclists/cars etc to get in the way.

I will now probably fall over next time I'm off-road in the dark!

Progress is rarely a straight line. There are always bumps in the road, but you can make the choice to keep looking ahead.
  • Options

I regularly run home from the station (and actually "to" now its dark until 8!) off-road, through the woods by myself with a head torch. I've been doing it for 10 years now (it's definitely lost it's novelty value!). My head torch now is so much brighter than when I first started - makes me wonder how I managed - and the route is obviously very familiar. Despite this, I still very occasionally get temporarily misplaced and even manage to spook myself sometimes - especially when I see a story in the local rag about the "Beast of Bucks"!  It does worry me sometimes what might happen if I knocked myself unconscious on a tree or something, as it would be a very long time before anyone found my hypothermic corpse!

• Options

I thought you were the Beast of Bucks Bus?

I used to do nightime XC runs with my old club. Generally good fun when well lit with strong head-torches. Not so fun with a crappy one. The pace was never silly.

I ran through Swinley woods back in Oct and left home in the dusk thinking I could get round in time. It gets pretty spooky out there.

Pedestrian 5km today with no grumbles and a happy disposition afterwards.

• Options