Options

Searching for Triathlon beginners

Comments

• Options
    If he likes motorbikes he'll love matlock on a bank holiday.
  • Options
    I'm the biker Stump! He won't go near.
    If you think you can or you think you can't you're probably right.
  • Options
    Barley - don't use that sentence on your CV or in your interview!
  • Options
    lol Hollywood, no ill lie on my CV.

Actually my jobs more managerial I dont need to know much of the technical there are technical people that do that.
  • Options
    Hi

I am still considering doing a tri (have done one for charity but it wasn't competitive) can anyone recomend any for next year that are beginner friendly?? thanks
  • Options
    K9K9 ✭✭✭
    Hello peeps....glad I stumbled upon this thread.

I've been running for a few years now, and have done 3 marathons, and lots of HMs. I'm unfortunately rather injury prone and recently have got into swimming as a means of staving off insanity when unable to run.

I would love to do a triathlon at some point, and sadly have a hankering to ultimately do an ironman. Will need to wait until I have the time needed to commit to this however, so definitely not this year.

The phobias that have stopped me so far are:

1. I've done virtually no cycling at all. I own a mountain bike which i used when i lived in Cambridge, but I'm too afraid to go out on it now due to the traffic where i live :o(
    2. The cycling I have done was astonishingly slow when I timed it.
    Quite pleased to hear that using a MTB is acceptable though
    3. I'm probably an OK swimmer. Learned to do crawl 18 months ago. Not too speedy - about 50m/min sort of speed. Can't do tumble turns either. Can swim 'forever' though - regularly swim 1.5 - 2 miles, and did 4 miles last Sunday without any bother.
    Open water swimming however - a very scary thought indeed.
    4. What to wear???? I am definitely NOT going to run in public in some skimpy tight-fitting lycra trisuit!!
    5. Transition. Help.