Options

St Catherine's Hospice Crawley 10K and Fun Run

I've just signed up for this race and am wondering what i'm letting myself in for. Anyone else signed up? Any tips on what the course is like etc?

This will be my 3rd 10k and i'm a slow coach trying desparately to break the 1hr mark. I've come within 4 seconds so am training hard for this one.

Anyone else running it?

Cara

Comments

• Options
    Pete SherriPete Sherri ✭✭✭

Hi Cara,

I did this last year and will probably run it this year, as its my local race

The course is quite a toughie, mostly off road and up and down hill through Tilgate forest. It is a nice run, having said that, and the trees keep it cool if the weather is hot.

You get a nice track start and finish too. Oh and the facilities at K2.

I wouldn't say it a PB course though, I was about 11 minutes outside my one.

• Options

Hi Cara

I think I may enter this race as I only live in Horsham.  image

Ran the Race for Life at Tilgate last year and have run two, 10K's in the last couple of months. 

Like you I am trying to break the hour, so need to knock 27 seconds off my time. 

I need to train much harder, oh joy!! image

Juliet

• Options

Hi Juliet,

Didn't you do the Horsham 10k too? It's hard to forget that heat! I also live in Horsham and I've been training hard since the 10k, but am getting a little tired from it so maybe it wasn't the best move image

I've got some work colleagues running too so it'll be a laugh whatever.

Think I might try to get to Tilgate forest somepoint to check it out after Pete's comments... i'm a little worried now!

Let me know how you training goes!

Cara 

• Options

Hi Cara

Yep it's me.  Can't believe the weather changes so much.  I got sunburn running the Horsham 10K and a nasty cold doing the BUPA one in London on Monday. 

I think I may be slighty mad, but thinking of trying to run the Dorking 10 miler this weekend.  Going to see how I feel on Saturday, but might just give it a go! image