Options

Are Orthotics really THAT brilliant?

Comments

• Options

Hi Hayley & Sopers

1/2 M was Loch leven which was just great to finish, just about bring a tear to a glass eye the feelign of getting over that line. On tri front my swimming sucks as well, all those horrors of school swimming lessons come flooding back. I am just starting out on this so am going to get swimming lessons therefore it will be a while before I can "compete" as it is a 750m swim which if I tried just now would lead to my lovely wife being able to collect on the life insurance.

In the meantime I will do the MH 10k and thinking about the Glasgow half.

• Options

Hia Sophers!

I go to Pittodrie Podiatry Clinic on King Street in Aberdeen and see Emily there.  She is really nice and down to earth and is all about the feet and not the money - so much so that she believes (as does her Podiatry Professor and nigh on half the Podiatry world) that the majority of people do not need custom-made orthotic insoles, i.e. when your feet are moulded and insoles are tailor made just for the contours of your feet.  The general consensus now is that, in alot of cases, prescribed insoles - reputable ones - work just as well (and sometime better) as they can be gradually adjusted to allow your feet time to get used to the new position that insoles bring.  I've got full length Vasyli & Danenbergs and they are brill!  She hasn't put any additional adjustments in yet, because she wants me to get used to my new foot position, so I will go back in about 6 weeks to see if I need further support or not.

I did look at another Podiatrist in town, but he only did moulds and custom-made and the price difference was unbelievable.  My consultation with Emily was £60 and my insoles were £50.  I don't pay any extra for adjustments.  For the other guy it was going to be the guts of £400 all in!!