Options

wannabe ultra runner?

Comments

• Options

Hope it goes well Seren. Snap on the tight calf (and down into ankle) - in my case after a trot round some big hills in Yorkshire. Off to physio tomorrow evening in the hope that she will be able to nip it in the bud!

• Options

I am thinknig about how to train for the fling- april, 53 miles. 2,300 m / 7,500 ft elevation.

Complicating factors:

1. I am not good on hills image.

2.My knee seems a bit crocked after doing 2 ultras in fairly quick succession ( 42 mile clyde stride- during which I mildly tore a calf muscle, making me limp up hills sideways, thus knackering my knee), followed by the Glen Ogle 33 miler ( hilly!). I am not sure it will hold up to high- mileage training!

3. I am slow -My longest race so far was the glasgow to Edin- earlier thisyear, shich I did in 11:34.- It is pan- flat, though.

4. I am going on holiday for a week ( ski trpi to norway) 3 weeks before.

5. I'm a surgeon, and my job is averaging about 70hours per weeek, some of my operations mean being on my feet for more than 8 hours, and on- call means about 1 in 6 nights is disturbed, occaisionallly with no sleep at all.

SO:

The plan so far-

Finish a 4 week spell of total abstinence from running, that started the day after the last race- I am 2 weeks nito this, my knee is much better, and I am beginning to get twitchy- I will get to the gym and do spinning/ strength/ stretching/ pool running for 2 more weeks ( and perhaps try to lose some weight).

Then:

Mondays-  run to/ from work ( 6miles each way)/intervals on tready -depends on on cal comitments and weather

Tuesdays- nothing/ HIIT/ core work

Wednesdays- spin class

Thursdays- moring off- so build up to running 2-3 reps of the local hill- it is 6 miles / 342 m ascent for a single rep.

Friday - rest