Complete newbie saying hello

Hi everyone, just wanted to say hi and introduce myself.

I am completely new to running. I'm a 31 year old who will soon become a father for the second time so I decided I should probably start taking better care of myself and so I've decided to get into running. I am dreading how hard it will be and am afraid of injury but I really am excited to get started. I've got a plan worked out and will be doing my first run/walk tomorrow morning, planning on around 5am [yikes]. Any advice would be great such as, what's a good warm up routine? What basic gear do I need to get started? and what apps do you recommend for tracking stats?

Looking forward to hearing from everyone :)
Silkie

Comments

• JGavJGav ✭✭✭
    Welcome, a few will recommend C25K as a way to get started.  It may seem like slow progress but it will help you with not getting injured.

Equipment wise - good quality comfy trainers are a must.  Don't spend too much yet.  Once you are running a bit more, go get a gait analysis done and pick trainers suitable for you.  Clothes, there's nothing worse than being out in the wrong clothes, especially in winter.  Cotton t-shirts are a no no as the sweat soaks in, no need to spend much money, Sports Direct or equivalent are plenty good enough.  Long sleeves, thin running gloves will all make it more comfortable.  That being said, you don't actually need any of this stuff at the beginning.

There's loads of free apps to track stuff, try Strava to start with, lots on here use it.  If you don't get on with it, try another.  Again, you don't need an app, but they're free and if they motivate you then why not.

• That's great, thanks for the advice :)

I got some cheap running clothes and running shoes from sports direct but just wanted to check in case I was missing something important.