Options

Treadmill lovers anyone?

What is the general consensus out there on treadmills?

Personally, I wouldn't have started running if it wasn't because of the treadmills down the gym. We now have our own (works out long term cheaper than gym costs) I've been running for a little over 4 months, I do outside running as well and can do 10k in around 45 mins. 4 months ago, I struggled with 3k.

For all those treadmill loathers out there saying it's not the same as the road because of wind etc. no, it's as hard or as easy as you wish. I agree with general opinion that you shouldn't run on less than 1% incline. But try 3%. That's relentless. Road is easier, even grass. At least on the road if there are uphills you also get downhills to recover. On the treadmill you can have up or less up.

Is my opinion unique in this?

Comments

• Options
    Tready's are horrible!!! They're so uncomfortable, there's no nice view to look at and I always overheat and feel uncomfortable on a tready!!

They're yuckety yuck!!
  • Options
    Our's looks out into our garden and we have a fan. I overheat too and get a dry throat from the fan so I aim it at my legs.

I admit, you've got to have decent music but even so it's hard to stop your mind getting mashed, so I tend not to do longer runs on it. But it's sooooo convenient, especially when it's cold and wet and miserable outside.
  • Options