Options

Overdone it?

Comments

• Options
    P&D = Pfitziger and Douglas who wrote a book called 'Advanced Marathoning'. A lot of people swear by the plans (I find them too hard at my age). The book is really good in explaining training principles so is well worth a read.
    Thanks for that.

I am currently buoyed by my last few 5k outings but realise the gains will plateau out eventually.  Would love to post another PB at December's race and then look to carry on with the training for the half at the end of March.  I still have huge doubts sometimes though concerning the pace I have to run in order to get the time I'd like.  I have to keep telling myself I'm new to all this and still establishing that base level of endurance/fitness.
  • Options
    Yeah everyone will plateau eventually - whether by maxing out on the amount and quality of training they can fit in, or just by growing older. In your case I think you should suspend doubt -  if you took yourself a couple of months ago, would you have doubted you would be running sub 20 with ease on a breezy day ? I think you can now look back and see that doubt would have been completely unjustified, and so is this current one about the half in the spring. Trust your body to respond considerably to the training !

Here's my progression over 6 months or so:

In Jan 2014 I was running around 20-25 miles per week. By March around 30-35. I would say my training then wasn't optimal and I was running in what now feels like a pair of clogs ! You are much younger so I would say you have every chance of running a really good half in the Spring.

• Options

It stands for Punish and Destroy.

(Advanced Marathoning by Pete Pfitzinger and Scott Douglas)
  • Options
    Interesting stats and a great improvement on your HM time muddy.  Thank you for the words of encouragement.  You're right, a few months ago before I started training properly I never would have thought I'd be running sub 20 before the year was out.