Options

Calling all Flora London Marathon 2009 hopefuls...

Comments

• Options
    Grace 51

Brief Running History

I am new to running only running outside when I reached that ripe old age of 50. I had always been fit and healthy and probably like most people took it for granted. I went to see my sister run the FLM07. I just loved the whole atmosphere I wanted to be part of it not just a spectator. I sent in my entry for FLM08 still not convinced I could do a marathon. I was determined to do the training following a beginner’s programme of 10 weeks on the treadmill; it was hard work, but got me up and running. I needed a lot of encouragement to run outside but when I did, I never looked back.

I loved going out early in the morning. I was unsuccessful in the 2008 ballot but determination and hope for a place in 2009 kept me going. I entered the BUPA great Manchester run and achieved my goal 10k in under an hour, my time 58:30.

At the moment I am following a Half Marathon training programme. my longest run so far has been 13 miles.

Another “unsuccessful” for the last FLM09 but Iam not giving up. I still have a chance

Reason you should train me

I have been slowly but surely building up my fitness and stamina I think I have done well but I still do not understand good training practice, interval, fartlek, diet gear etc.  I read all the  training plans but sometimes find them hard to follow. Running a marathon is huge for me. I love running but would benefit greatly from professional advice and training. 

Predicted marathon time: I would love to do it in 4:30

• Options

Name: Sarah Morley and Caroline Wreglesworth
    Brief running history: We have been running for about 1 year
    Reason why we should train you: