Options

Skinny or thin?

Comments

• Options

(Sorry to reactivate the old account in order to comment)

KM, you do seem very light for your height, but I'm not a doctor and I know little about healthy bodies. However I would say two things, if you don't mind. 

If you really do want to beat people in races, rather than just clock fast times when alone, you will need a sprint finish. I'm 5'10" and a little under 11 stone - this makes me a bit heavy compared to some distance runners, but the muscle really does come in handy in the last 200m. Without trying to boast, you can count the number of people who have out-sprinted me in races on 1 hand. In your scenario, seemingly with far less muscle, you will really struggle to up the pace late in the race.

Also, again without meaning to boast, my estimate time for a half-marathon (predicted from 800m/1500m/5K/10K times) is between 1:20 and 1:22. This implies that even with my heavier, more muscular build, we would still be very close in a race, meaning your lightness is not giving as much of an advantage as you might like.

• Options
    Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

That pic just takes this thread to even more disturbing levels.

Before then there was always the chance that despite 6ft 3 9 stone or whatever that it somehow worked for the guy in a unique to usual logic kind of way...but when your ribs are that visible and sticking out...that's just dangerous.

you need to sort this out me laddo

• Options
    Pethead wrote (see)

I'm 5'10" and a little under 11 stone....

...even with my heavier, more muscular build...

......Please! LOL
  • Options

Killermiles,

Just read this thread and was forming my own opinions. I wish you well and hope you are still in good health and I, as others, mean what I have to say with concern for your wellbeing as I do not think you are in good health at the moment even though you may think you are.