Options

Salclear Isle of Man Marathon

Am thinking of entering.

Was wondering about accomadation.  I see that they provide transport from the ferry to the start.  I am not an early bird so was thinking of stopping near to the start, any accomadation suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    I'm thinking of entering too, might make a bit of a long weekend of it.  Any advice on best value ferry crossing from Heysham/Liverpool
  • Options

see isle of man steam packet holidays for deals with accomodation.  There's probably cheaper deals, but you need someone from the island for help.  Hesham will be cheaper than Liverpool.

I would love to do this event as i love the island, but not possible this year.

• Options

Has anyone any feedback on this Marathon or done it before?  I am thinking of using it as a "best for age" qualifyer for London 2010 - I am a vet so would need to go under 3.15.

I cannot find many other marathons pre August 21st to qualify - this is the cut off for London 2010.

Would the Isle of Man lend itself to a reasonable time!

Any comments much appreciated.

Cheers,

Bill. 

• Options
    OjomanOjoman ✭✭✭
    Entered this and looking forward to it!
  • Options

Well after Edinburgh going a lot tits upwards after six months of training in the winter i just had to find another to have a go at . Great flights from Birmingham on sat morning returning on sun at 18:00 so no reasons not to have another go and it's ten weeks away so pretty much perfect image. Just need to find a hotel now for sat night.

Anybody any idea how far from Douglas the start is or advice for close hotels ? 

• Options

I'm thinking the same as you Tarmac Runner - Edinburgh was a disaster and I trolled in 35mins slower then my target time, so I need something else apart from the half and 10km I have lined up. This one sounds okay so I might give it a punt.