Options

Comrades (South Africa) 56 miles

Comments

• Options
    Welcome Saddlesore.

Joe - finally worked out what JFDI stood for! image

Jellybean - i have found with the big chain hotels that you get the option of either paying up-front for a cheaper rate or leaving it until your stay for more. With independents and smaller chains in Cape Town and Franschhoek I have been asked for the balance fairly early on - but usually by credit card only, not money order.

Carmen - sending you healing vibes...

• Options

Thanks everyone... just got to hold it together til the 26th image

Carmen... I would but I'm not good at hopping. Hope you feel better very soon.

JB... you have mail image

• Options
    SD, I don't mind them taking a credit card number in case of a no show but what the paper work says is that if you cancel after you've paid the deposit you won't get it back.  That means any time from Jan 1st onward-that's not fair or necessary.  Something doesn't seem quite right. 
  • Options
    JB - I have had to pay the full balance up front for stays in SA. The booking conditions have varied. Some would return the money paid on a sliding % scale depending on when you cancelled (minus a admin fee). I only felt ok doing this as these were all for places where friends had stayed and recommended. I understand why you're nervous with a new place with no recommendations... Does Tripadvisor have anything to say about your hotel?
  • Options
    Carmen - Morningside is not too far from central Durban but I would suggest that it's not really "walking distance"... If you're happy to be using taxis from and to your place, it's not too bad...
  • Options
    Trini - Well done, you should have a good run in Berlin.