Options

Riots...

Comments

• Options
    Final proof that I kill threads even ones with over 270 posts during 2 daysimage
  • Options
    Sussex Runner (NLR) wrote (see)

Despite calls to rid the streets of spectators the Malaysian kid went out onto the street flashing his camera in front of looting rioters. Not exactly smart was it?

We discussed this last night and I read virtually every available news item about the incident with the Malaysian student at the time, and I found not a single article that suggested he had been taking photos, so I would be interested to know where you read this.

As far as I could make from reports I read, he was meeting a friend for breakfast, he had been pushed off his bike by one group of rioters, which broke his jaw, and another group pretended to come to his assistance when the came across him, and robbed him at the time.

Being a photographer myself (on the side not as a job, but I do a lot of documentary photography in public places) I think this 'victim blaming' attitude (IF he has been taking photos) pretty much stinks.  It's just another example of pointing the finger at decent innocent people instead of the vermin who are committing these offences.

So if BBC reporters / cameramen are assaulted in all this, are you still going to turn around and say "Well you stupid twat should not have been there?" instead of pointing the finger at those who are actually breaking the law??  I really don't know what it is with some of you...

• Options

... *pointless*  image

Lirish, look after yourself today.  Glad to see police have been getting spontaneous applause in some places from the public when they arrive.  Most of us are on your side.

• Options

You are a vile woman. My communication with you ends here

• Options