Options

Newbie feeling disheartened already :(

Comments

• Options
    Wow you guys are hard core for beginners! If I do 5k I really feel it and dont really do more than 2 a week or at least until the muscle soreness passes. 5-6 times a week would finish me off!!!
  • Options
    I think it helps that I've been exercising 4 times a week for months so, even though I'm new to running, my body's used to the pounding. Ha ha! Plus, exercise is addictive so I just always wanna do more image
  • Options

Type 1 shouldn't stop you doing anything Vicky!  In my prevoious incarnation as NHS Droog I worked for three diabetes consultants so have a little insight in to the T1/exercise issues.  We had a couple of girls who had T1 and ran marathons.  I won;t lie and say it was easy for them, because I suspect you know better already, but if you've been exercising regularly already you'll have a feel for whats required in terms of replacement.  If you bear in mind the tougher conditions that go with outdoor running I reckon you'll be fine for longer distances.  If at a ny point however you're not entirely sure, discuss your requirements with your consultant.

• Options

I dont know if this will help your motivation a little bit......I seem to have had all the same issues you have in the past couple of weeks!

I am doing a 5 week, 5Km walk to run program. The first week was easy with 1min/1min walk-run. I found the second and third weeks the hardest. They were 2min on/off and 3min on/off, and I thought I was going to die! But I perservered and today did my first 7min run/2 min walk day, and although it was hard I found that when I got throught he first couple of minutes and settled into the running it actually got easier (until I started to get really tired!).

You might, as I did, find it gets easier after you have pushed through the first couple of minutes and get into a rhythm??

But good luck and stick with it!!