Options

Base training backlash

Comments

• Options
    Dare I say something on this erudite thread?

I am a total beginner and ignorant to boot. I only started running in April this year after a layoff of 50yrs-ish. (yes fifty) I do not know the meaning of terms like VO2max, lactic threshold, etc., although I do know the difference between aerobic and anaerobic exercise. I currently run 15mpw at 12m/m and I enjoy it. I have built up to that without the first of idea of "proper" training and without significant injury. It seems to me that the sensible way to go is to test your body and see what it can cope with comfortably then push it a bit harder but not too much, just build up gradually on pace and distance.

When I started I couldn't do much more than walk but now can run (plod) for an hour continuously. I seek advice and read all I can find but believe I have to temper it all with how it suits what my body can achieve. All you guys with your "scientific" methods seem to think you're discussing absolutes, except some seem to think they're absolutely right and others are absolutely wrong. I'm not trying to be offensive (far be it) but just to suggest that as we are all different (size, weight, age, sex, perception, will-power) we need to take on board those bits of the various methods and theories that actually suit us and that we must discover by experiment. The experimentation has to be sensible as does the training and so long as we continue to gradually increase our mileage and push the pace just that bit further, surely that is the absolute that works for all? I can see the value of doing speed work and of steady running but the point of running deliberately slow escapes me, it just doesn't seem logical. Obviously it gets in the miles but (not too comfortable) steady running does that and I would have thought more effectivley.