Options

Walking a marathon is easier?

Comments

• Options
    James B73James B73 ✭✭✭

i put my knee problem down to the trainers I had at the time plus when I get tired my back hurts and this puts my running gait out, placing extra pressure on my knees. So I am now do core stability exercises. Again can be found on google.

I am no expert though.

And occasionally you do need expert assistance and a trip to the physio is worthwhile.

• Options
    James B73James B73 ✭✭✭

And I would also say that this is what threads should be about. A forum for runners to air their problems and to see what advice comes your way. As opposed to whether runing or walking in a marathon is an achivement or not. (Not wishing to start another debate on this issue).

• Options

weak gluts cause most of my problems.from achillies to knee problems.......they are still weak though as I get lazy with the exercises.but do try and do yoga once a week now to try and help a little.....

• Options

I seemed to have lost my running mkojo the last month..i realised that i was probably run less than david over the last few weeks.image

but a twohour uphill all the way run this morning sorted that outimage

• Options

And don't forget referred pain - sometimes an injury isn't where you think it is. When I had IT band problems it initially felt like a pulled hamstring. PF problems can all be centred in the calf.

That's where physios come in - they know how all the bits join up!

BTW David - don't you think it's generous of the Forum to offer you all this good free advice?

• Options

Just re-reading some of the old posts on the Guardian's running blog, came across this which made me think of this thread ...