Options

Paris Marathon 2014

Comments

• Options
    ATMATM ✭✭✭

Thanks for that post, TD.It's very thought-provoking.

I see that the Breakfast run has changed course etc, this year. Anyone thinking of doing it?

• Options
    I was planning on having a go at the breakfast run, I've never done it before.
  • Options

Thanks for the advice on the HM folks, assuming nothing falls off between now and then will go for it! Hoping for a good day in Blackpool, I'm keen to see how all this training is adding up!

Great read on the carbs TD, as with others on here I don't think I've been taking enough on during the runs. I've mostly been using Energy Chews which are similar to the shot blocks but smaller 4 chews is about 30g carbs. I've been taking them 2 at a time every 2 miles from mile 4/5 hoping that the drip feed technique will keep me going. I think I need to start taking them earlier (and maybe washing them down with sports drink rather than water!)

Windy run up (a bit) and around Arthur's seat tonight just over 5M. harder work than I thought it should be for the pace, but maybe just a result of trying to keep a conversation going on the uphills!

• Options

I can't stand chewing stuff while racing as I just don't have enough breath for it, even in a mara. I feel like plain water is liable to make me choke so have to be very careful. Elites don't use gels because they never carry anything and can be sure to get their individual drinks bottles. This is rarely an option for a participant in a mass field.

My carb method of choice is to wear a belt and have 2x 200ml bottles on the back. I fill each bottle with 4 gels (3 normal one caffeine) which makes the bottle half full, then I top up the other half with water. So that's 8 gels for the race. I just take a little swig as and when i want it. They go down easily and I always get the full compliment down.