Options

RW F7 – aiming for 3.15

I’ve only ever done one marathon (York, 2013) and I absolutely loved it.  At first I was aiming for sub4 but my training went well and I altered my goal pace to a risky 3:45 to try for a GFA for London 2015. It turns out training went really well and I crossed the line in 3:32.

But not content to settle now for GFA, I wanted to have a crack at getting a champs place. You see I’m a northern lass and probably only going to do this London thing once….. so how amazing would it be to start in the champs pen?!

I’m aiming for 3:15 – 3:20 at London and would love a mentor to help get me there! I’ve been running for less than 3 years so I’ve still got an awful lot to learn and of course I’d be a lively thread contributor too 

Comments

• Options
    15West15West ✭✭✭

It's me! WOOHOO!

• Options
    15West15West ✭✭✭

Oh, I'm mentoring.

• Options
    MinniMinni ✭✭✭
    image Looking forward to following this thread as a fellow tiny runner!
  • Options

OOohhhh!!!! Thanks to Minni for giving me the 'head's up' about this thread.  Very pleased to find out I've got 15W as a mentor - he's fantastic over on the P&D thread and this just means I get to chat with him even more......bet you're so pleased 15W?!

• Options

Okay so a bit of info on what I've been up to - started following the P&D 'Advanced Marathoning' plan (the up to 55 miles a week option).  If anyone's still searching for a plan, please don't let the title put you off - I used it for my first marathon and it was a fantastic plan.

Going with 'if it ain't broke, don't fix it' theory, I've decided to use the same plan again.  However, I'm a bit uneasy about the lack of speedwork in the plan.  I've gotten used to doing regular speedwork and to stop feels a bit weird.  I know marathon training is a different ball game to shorter distances, but I'd still like to keep the once a week track sessions going.  So, first question for 15W, what are your thoughts?