Options

Hard Marathon Training with Mike Gratton

Comments

• Options
    HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    Sorry to sound stupid, but I'm quite new to using a heart rate monitor in training/racing and don't yet fully understand it!:o)

Why once in the right zone is it hard to get it higher and how do you know it's it the right zone?
  • Options
    I know I'm running at the right pace through experience of the course, how I feel and how others around me are running. I then check the HRM more out of interest than anything.

So when I'm at (say) 6k of a 10k, I know the only way I can push it over 190 is by taking my body to a level unsustainable for 4k. In the last 1k I can get it over 190 but only for a limited period knowing it is the end of the race.

It's just hard to get it higher because if you did you'd be running too fast for the race, and blow up at some point.
  • Options
    HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    Thanks BR, I beginning to understand:o)

I didn't actually check my hr while racing. In fact I didn't look at my watch today until the finish, which is unusual. I think it was because I was actually racing another person for a good 7 miles and was going more by how I felt.
  • Options
    HillyHilly ✭✭✭
    Read I as I'm.
  • Options
    Another way to use the info about your HR from this race is to use the knowledge that you could keep it to the level you did very evenly for the 10 mls. As training improves your pace for that HR should get faster, and maybe you will get to be able to sustain a higher HR for 10ml, but in your next 10 ml race you could make sure it doesn't go over that rate for say the first half ie that you don't start too fast for the distance, but equally you'd feel confident that you could sustain the pace. This would be much better than worry about the mile pace (esp if the mile markers might be out, or hills or wind etc affect the race)
  • Options
    HillyHilly ✭✭✭