Options

Paris Marathon 2008

Comments

• Options

Well I am a veteran of a few marathons and I have got my own 'peculiarities'. I always run with my own supply of water and energy drink for 2 reasons:

• many races gie you water in cups which I am absolutely unable to drink while running.
    • energy drink given on races is often scare (specially in paris) and not nice, so I carry the one I like!

Now not everybody recommends to do that, you see very few runners carrying waterbladers during races but for me it works.

For the foodd, I take energy gels, they really make a difference and then other sugary things.

• Options

You need to try different methods of carrying food/gels to see what suits.  Depends on what you wear, what you end up eating/drinking etc.  It's trial and error mainly and you've got plenty of time to work it out.

I personally have a little neoprene pouch on a belt that I shove gels/jelly babies, phone, money, ibuprofen in (I know, I know).Then I carry water/energy drink. Still have to workout tactics for Paris.  Have only ever done FLM where water, lucozade etc is abundant.

You might get lots of good info on the FLM threads - there are always lots of beginners on the 4.30/5hr threads.  Why not go and have a look back at what we were all blathering on about last year in the run up to FLM? You'll find out all sorts - about things that haven't even crossed your mind yet!!

• Options
    Oh, and I should add that there's plenty of experience on those threads to answer the newbie questions.
  • Options

Eurostar 

I can see singles at £29.50 on Friday 4th April.

But that is as far as booking allows.

I am going out on Sat and return Monday so may be able to book soon

• Options