Options

Calling all Flora London Marathon 2009 hopefuls...

Comments

• Options
    Name: Craig Beaumont

Brief running history: Not sporty at school, it was only at a military fitness training session where I realised I was winning the running sections. I can now do a sub-20 min 5k, a 40-minute 10k, and a 95-minute half-marathon.

Reason why we should train you: A marathon is a completely different race to these, and I have no idea how to work on a training plan and strategy that goes beyond "just getting round". I reckon my experience on the plan would chime with the greatest single block of RW subscribers - eager runners that have developed quite some way and made great strides (arf) in time and technique, but still can't really do a marathon justice and to their full potential.

Predicted marathon time: Would love to go sub 4 hours, potentially - possibly - a bit quicker.
  • Options

Name: Stu

Brief running history: I have been running on & off for 4-5 years now, the only official race timesI have is  a  1:50 1/2 marathon and a 48 minute 10k.

Reason why we should train you: Because I have lost motivation, I was admitted to Hospital in March this year with a viral infection, since then I have barely been running. I need a focus and a goal to get me back out there & to be honest a kick up the backside wouldn't go astray either. But the main reason I want to do it is to raise money for Sue Ryder & Macmillan Nurses, the care and service they provide is priceless and needs continual backing. And from a selfish point of view I want to prove to myself that I can get my fitness back. I have done it once before and I don't want to let myself slip back to how I was before.

Predicted marathon time: I'd say sub 4 hours, because I have no real clue how fit or unfit I am right now

• Options

Name Adrian Stones

Running background