Options

Overdone it?

Comments

• Options

RicF, re the Dead Zone:

"To the uninitiated, the Dead Zone is that area where the training (running) is too fast for building or recovery but not fast enough to trigger an adaptive response"

I thought aerobic development occured all the way up to marathon pace? So if I am running anything between a slow jog and MP I am growing those mitochondria etc. Not the case?

I am no scientist but I undersood it from Hadd that it was good to train at a range of aerobic paces.

• Options
    macemace ✭✭✭

Ah shucks, thanks Ric image The last time i was referred to as a genius was ... erm ..... that's enough of that then .image

HADD sub-LT run is an MP run. Beneath your lactate threshold (which is, in theory, around 10M pace) And before you do those sort of runs build your mileage at an easy ( or even recovery ) HR until you can run for an hour with minimal HR drift. Then you start working on the higher end aerobic stuff ( sub-LT/MP ) until you minimize the drift.

CharlieChris wrote (see)

RicF, re the Dead Zone:

"I am no scientist but I undersood it from Hadd that it was good to train at a range of aerobic paces.

That's not my understanding of HADD ....

• Options
    RicFRicF ✭✭✭

I'm not saying HADD has no value. Just to make you aware that no one has sussed this business 100%.

There's room for innovation and experiment. Keep an open mind.

Study the subject for getting on for thirty years and you'll see it.

If you are aware that many training methods were made famous because one athlete broke a world record doing them you'll think the method must be great. However, if you are also aware that the same athlete had a career of no more than three years and finished permanently injured, you'll develop another view.

I'm faster now at 54 than I was at 27. So what went wrong?

🙂

• Options
    Stevie  GStevie G ✭✭✭✭

perhaps you weren't doing 80mile weeks at 27 eh Ric  image

• Options