Options

Outlaw 2013

Comments

• Options
    mathschickmathschick ✭✭✭

brilliant reports, I am struggling to keep up with them all. It is wonderful reading what you have all been through, and knowing the history of how come you ended up doing the outlaw at all too

• Options
    mathschickmathschick ✭✭✭

borobhoy - I met your crew as I was on my way home, you had quite a crew there, loved their t-shirts!

• Options

oops wrong thread - it was the other one (FINK for outlaw 2013)  surely we all lurk on the same threads

• Options

Seren - you probably passed me in transition.

mathschick - thanks, I'll let them know.  Being a maths teacher I love your name.

• Options

Outlaw/My 40th

I wanted to write a proper race report but I’m flying off on hols in the morning and I’m running out of time so here’s the condensed version …

Did Lanza in May as the A race, Outlaw was a birthday treat.  Aim .. to have a good time (though secretly wanted to be super fast, lol).

Arrived, camped in Pirate central, next to the girlies tent, Meldy, Mouse and Hope.

Race morning.   4am start, am given a Pirate Monaco by Baby Pingu which has been decorated with ‘Happy Birthday’ and a picture of Pingu… big smiles. image

Leave to tent for the loos, come back and there are balloons everywhere!!  More big smiles!  Hugs for Raf ‘No fun was had with the helium, honest’ iki.

Off to the start, suns up, it’s going to be a lovely day!

Swim.  2.4, that’s a long way.  Got bored, wanted to get out of the water.  1.19.  Was expecting between 1.15 and 1.20 so bang on.

Bike. Pirate feed station was ace, cycled through to a chorus of ‘Happy Birthday’.  I got lucky and missed the ‘jock strap’ incident ….

Spent too long on the aero bars and got a sore back.  Saffers over took and I watched her disappear into the distance.  Saw Blue Peter a lot as we passed each other quite a few times.  Wanted to get off the bike at 80 miles.  112, that’s a long way.  Finished in 6.30, happy with that.