Options

Whatever happened to....

Comments

• Options
    I wish I never joined this thread, I can't get any work done and I'm being bombarded with email notifications!!
  • Options
    got it in one - the aforementioned Mr Curtis. His widow's biography "Touching From A Distance" was a decent read - not too pleasant for Tony Wilson though.
  • Options

Mike S, I wish I was looking this up on a website....unfortunately, I really AM this sad and tragic!

John Peel's all time fave is "Teenage Kicks" by the Undertones (I've just bought their A-sides and B-sides compilation in the HMV sale incidentally - a bargain at £4.99!).

How about Bronksi Beat? And all those two-tone bands?
  • Options
    i always check the web for lists to jog my memory-i was a student in the eighties-some of it blurs into the late seventies...
  • Options
    This is moving too fast - but now I've got to go & collect my son from his after-school X-C training....
  • Options
    i can't keep up. what about Nine Below Zero, Secret Affair, The Vapors etc.. or has someone mentioned those.
  • Options
    PB, I tried that and I still get notifications. I think once you've joined a thread with it switched on you're sucked in for good.

Plus I need to keep a check on my other threads :)
  • Options
    I do remember all those ridiculous frankie says t-shirts though.not in the same league as the seventies favourite of mine from stiff records-remember them-if it ain't stiff,it ain't worth a f***.
  • Options

Talking of the Undertones, I quite liked Feargal Sharkey's solo stuff - "Listen to Your Father", "You Little Thief", "A Good Heart". It's all in the voice. And I remember him doing a "live" show in a plane on some Noel Tidybeard programme, but the "backing" tape got stuck at which point it became obvious he was miming. Bit like All About Eve on TOTP.
  • Options