The Middle Ground

Comments

• MoraghanMoraghan ✭✭✭

If you want to burn fat to lose fat obviously you have to get a pen and paper out and work out the most efficient pace / duration combination to burn the most TOTAL FAT CALORIES.

Which, of course, is a different thing than trying to improve fat utilisation for a marathon.

• MoraghanMoraghan ✭✭✭
    Mr Viper wrote (see)
    What are peoples views on how quickly it is ok to increase mileage. I've been running for around 18 months and worked my way up to around 40mpw at the beginning of the year. In the last month I've been avergaing around 55mpw. I was intending to give myself a further 2 months at this mileage before steadily increasing again so I hit 70mpw by September time. Is this an appropriate timescale or too much too quickly?

Mr Viper

There are two issues here - one of intra-year increases and how they are managed and the other is how you apply the quality training to increases in mileage.  Then you have to factor in your running experience and the method you use to increase mileage.

Although your approach seems conservative (and it is in structure) it represents a jump from 40 to 70 in one year.  If you are accompanying your training with proportional increases in quality work then I would say that's aggressive.

If you think about a multiyear progression an experienced runner may look to increase by about 10 miles year to year.  It takes a long time to really be sure that a volume increase and quality work increase is the right thing to do.  It's not a case of what is possible, it is what is optimal and makes you quicker.  That's personal so there's no easy answer.  At the end of each season there is always the question - where and how do I progress from here? 

Similarly, if you were to add in 2nd runs on some days (which I like to do for reasons other than mileage purposes) then I would say it is okay to increase a bit more aggressively.

Sorry, that was just an unhelpful ramble.

• Mr VMr V ✭✭✭