Options

The skinny on treadmills

Comments

• Options
    PhilPubPhilPub ✭✭✭

Wilkie - from the article: "you burn five calories for every litre of oxygen you consume"  I'm not a scientist but I presume this is a statement of fact, so presumably they're hooked up to equipment measuring their oxygen consumption.

Interesting article.  It's all making a bit more sense to me now.  Given the very different biomechanical actions of walking and running (and therefore different forces involved) it would be a bit of a coincidence if the energy expenditure was the same for a given distance travelled.  From the experiment in the article comparing calorie burn for running vs walking at different speeds it's fairly clear that efficiency of movement is key.  Moraghan - I'd be interested to know if there are any studies on this but I'd be willing to bet that calorie burn / mile varies a great deal depending on running speed, with the lowest calorie burn being in a mid-range where a person's running is most efficient, probably relating closely to a person's easy to high-aerobic running intensities.  At any slower speed (as Amby notes in the above study) a person has to artificially change their gait and therefore be less efficient, and at higher speeds there's too much effort required, and an associated loss of form.

I suspect ultra runners (Noakes??) would know a lot more about this than me.

• Options

When I said that speed didn't make much difference, I was only meaning comparing running speeds, not running and walking.

I believe it does actually make a bit of a difference, but not so significant.

Obviously running faster for the same time burns more energy, but doing it over the same distance makes only a little difference.

Incidentally we really should be talking about kilojoules rather than calories - we went metric quite a long time ago! 

• Options