Options

HADD training plan

Comments

• Options

Bluenose... I'm still here, but with only a 3 miler under my belt today, I haven't got much to report! image

Actually, I am one of those in the final throes of marathon prep - 4 miles tomorrow and then a few days of eating and 'visualising' before I 'get it on' for real in Rome on Sunday morning.  My problem now is what pace to run at.  I vacilate between planning to take it safe and stick at my 70-75% pace, which should cause me little or no problems over 26.2 miles and would deliver a 4:20ish time... or whether to trust my HADD training and crank up the HR to 83-85% and see what happens.  Based on my recent HM time, I should be closer to 4:10 hrs, but I am really concerned at overcooking it on my first marathon outing surrounded by 000's of people in predicted 18degC of heat over lots of cobbles (bloody Romans...) - problem is I have no experience to base my decision on.

Ho-hum...

• Options
    I would stick with safe..... Mainly because of the heat.... When you get to half way, and still feel good then crank it up to 75-80%.... And again at twenty to 80-83%.... But the main aim's got to be enjoy it, and finish it, and beat the wife, if she's running!!!! (Quickly added the running bit in)...
  • Options

Brian, looked at that link.... Bit too severer for me... Over the last four month's I've knocked 3mins off my 10k to 6.33 av mile pace, 48sec off parkrun to av 6.16 mp and 1.10 off club 5k time trial.... And all acheived by going no faster than 7.13 mp in training....

It's funny that when somethings working well, we're still not happy with it... Cheers for the link, and I may revisit it in May if thing's have stopped progressing....

• Options
    macemace ✭✭✭