Options

Dublin 2012

Comments

• Options
    JLB3 wrote (see)

Dub Runner - This is my first Marathon, so as long as I finish, it's a PB!  Booked into the Maldron Hotel, looks nice enough.  Fancied having access to a pool, sauna etc.  Also, bringing the wife so couldn't slum it.

@JLB3 - this is my frst marathon too. I live just 50 meters from your hotel image 

I've finished Frank Duffy 10M race in 1:23. It was way, way better than my target (as I started training pretty late and gained almost 10kg in half a year target was 1:35). I've injured my hip... I skipped 4M slow today. Tomorrow 15M slow is scheduled. Will try to run a bit and will see how it goes. 

• Options

This weeks sessions - Monday is a rest day

Tuesday
    28th August

5 x 1km Repetitions with 2 mins walk recovery

Warm with 5- 10 min easy jog. 3-4 stride throughs and 10 mins Stretching. When doing the repetitions try to keep them all even. Then after the session 10 min Jog and 11 mins Stretching

Wednesday
    29th August

16 km easy run

Followed By 10-15min stretching.

Thursday
    30th August

10 km easy run

Friday
    31st August

8 x 300m Hill Sprints with job back recovery

Warm with 5- 10 min easy jog. 3-4 stride throughs and 10 mins Stretching. Then on a hill with roughly 7% gradient, run the hills hard with a jog back recovery. Then after the session 10 min Jog and 11 mins Stretching

Saturday
    1st September

10 km easy run

Sunday
    2nd September

32 km easy run

• Options
    WarrenDWarrenD ✭✭✭

I have just remembered how much these forums can make me feel inadequate when it comes to the amount of miles I'm covering!

I did the Frank Duffy 10mile in 67:28 at the weekend. It was a PB for me, so I was happy with that, but knowing theres a half-marathon looming in less than 3 weeks I'm not really feeling that I've done enough to date. The hills in the Phoenix Park can be hard going (especially when you hit the Upper Glen Rd) with 10 miles gone.