Options

Base Training

Comments

• Options
    well, last i heard he was very occipied with running his smallholding
  • Options

woohoo finally found the right thread

Shades pointed me in the general direction of there is a thread somewhere from here marathon trainig thread.

Probably going to start on this Late October at the earliest and i've already be warnede i'm liable to be barely above a walk at first.

• Options

Keith, I've been doing base training for about 3 months now and it has worked really well for me. I have been using the formula 180 minus my age which is 29 to work out my max heart rate. Which is 151 bpm max.

The improvements have been good. My average pace per mile has went from 9.48/mile to 8.26/mile at the same average heart rate. This is as well as increasing my weekly mileage from 20 miles to 40 miles. So it does work but you do have to be patient in the early stages, especially on your longer runs. I was doing 10.43/mile on one long run. It takes about 5 to 6 weeks to see any noticable changes but it does work. My 10k time went from 51.00 in June to 47.00 a couple of weeks ago and this was with no special training just lots running at the same steady pace.I dont think any other training would have shown this much improvement so soon.

Good Luck and let me know if you have any questions.

Ian. 

• Options

Hi Ian

Normal long run pace for me should be 10:30 to 11:30 per mile care of Shades marathon training plan. I'm not starting on any BT until i've completed my marathon on Oct 21st.

I do have a couple of 10 mile races in the month after that were i will be aiming to drop my PB down to the correct level. My PB times will be in the next post as its refusing to let me cut and paste again.