Options

Paris Marathon 2014

Comments

• Options

Hi guys, I'm a newbie here! image

I just signed up today to run for "La Fondation ARC pour la recherche sur le cancer"

I ran the London Marathon 2013 for Cancer Research and am super excited to be doing Paris next year!

I trained from December-April for London as per the training programme I followed but definitely felt I could have done more. Longest training run was 18 miles.

On the day I followed the 4hr 45min pacemaker, ran for 16 miles totally fine, started to get blisters until mile 18 when my achilles tendon on my right ankle refused to take my weight anymore.  I carried on to the end but had to walk the final 6 miles and was really upset about it image

So this time I plan to start training now and give myself an extra 2 months conpared to last time.I don't really run at the moment, just 2.5k to pole dance class and back once a week but feeling totally comfortable doing that.  Went out and did a 5k the other night and felt totally fresh so I'm not really sure where to take it from here...start a couch to marathon style programme?  Or just jump into Hal Higdon's Novice plan as before??  

• Options
    yer majyer maj ✭✭✭

Hi Emma, welcome to the thread image

The ideal place to start marathon training is from a good solid base of running regularly.  If you're doing the Hal novice 1 programme then that's 4 times a week isn't it?  I would suggest building your running up so you get used to going out at le7-ast 3 times a week before you start...and be comfortably running distances of up to 8 miles otherwise the long runs are going to come as a bit of a shock to the system.  Ideally if you are running around 20 miles a week before youi start you're going to put yourself in a really strong position.