Options

P&D Spring Marathon Training Thread

Comments

• Options
    DT19 - in the past I have either just run the 20 miles as my long run the week before, or swapped two weeks within the same mesocycle so the race falls on a week with a similar sounding workout.
  • Options
    RamjetRamjet ✭✭✭

DT19 I am doing a half 7 weeks before the marathon. I have booked the Tuesday morning off work that week to do the long run and am doing the Half as the LT session. Should make that killer 7 miles @ LT session more bearable.

I wouldn't mess with the long runs personally. They are key sessions.

• Options
    RamjetRamjet ✭✭✭

SGB you are right but this is my first time doing the 70 mile/week plan and one year ago I was only a casual runner. This is year 2 of the 10 year plan so a 5 min PB is acceptable. P.s. I am very stubborn and not good at taking advice but thanks!

• Options
    DT19DT19 ✭✭✭

Thanks for the views. I can't push any later with the twenty as my hm is on 23 march. That's last day before taper. Weekend before is 17 which is doable as a swap. I do have an option of a half two weeks earlier on 9th which is same weekend as the dreaded 18 with 14 at mp. Perhaps thats a more logical weekend as can race the half and do the other miles easy so would tick off that session easily. 

• Options
    marrowsmarrows ✭✭✭

yeh that sounds better DT

• Options
    SGB1953SGB1953 ✭✭✭

Ram - OK, thanks.  A 10-year plan sounds impressive!

• Options

Dt19 - do you have the obsessive pd spreadsheet ? I am forever shuffling mine. +1 for ramjets comment re use a half as a replacement LT

• Options
    yer majyer maj ✭✭✭

Mennania - how did you treat/sort your adductor injury?  Although having seen my osteopath and massage git this week they are both a bit stumped - there isn't anything seemingly wrong with the adductors, it's referred pain and we can't get to the bottom of it.  They're talking about a hip scan now....sigh....