Options

Sheffield Half-Marathon

Comments

• Options

Hi Claire

9 miles in 1:40 is very good if you consider yourself to be a total beginner, so I think finishing in under 3 hours certainly wouldn't be a problem!

But that's providing you have put the mileage in whilst training.

If you say you haven't run all week and are supposed to be doing 12 miles this weekend, you might be putting undue strain on your body and risking injury (common among beginners upping to the mileage too suddenly - I've done it myself).

I'd suggest maybe aiming for 10, or at the very most 11, miles this weekend - despite the fact I prefer to have at least covered the full distance prior to running a race, it's generally true that if you've managed a 10-miler in the course of your training, you should - on the day - be able to manage that distance plus the extra 3.1 miles of the half mara.

Do try to put in some shorter recovery runs/different types of training runs on weekdays as well as your long weekend runs - have you been following a training programme?

The other thing is - don't run your long runs too quickly.  This may be why you felt you couldn't run any further on the last occasion...

You may well be able to run further if you ease your pace a little, thus having some extra energy reserves which are used up if you go off too quickly.

If you can manage 10 or 11 miles this weekend without strain, niggles or extreme fatigue, I'd say go for it!  But do be careful about risking injury.

And remember - if it's your first time, it's okay to walk when you need to.

• Options

There will probably be some nasty food, lots of rubbish trying to sell you stuff and if your lucky a medal? Not sure if they are doing medals this year? Anyone know?

Bunny, If your dads is paying and driving go up to the Ladybour Inn just on the reservoir before the A57 snake pass. It's lovely.image