Options

Dublin Marathon 2010

Comments

• Options

Hey All,

Dublin will be my first marathon.  I have been training for close to 6 months, following a recommended regimen fairly closely, although frequently skipping one of the short mid-week runs (demanding job and two little kids at home are the best excuses I can come up with).  All was going well through about three weeks ago when I did 19.5m at about 8:45 per mile pace.  The following week I struggled through a 21.5m run at a 9:20 per mile pace.  Then, last week, I hoped to do 22m but pulled up after 10m from massive glute pains.  I have increased the glute stretches and am confident I will be OK from that perspective; shorter runs have been fine since.  However, with only a 14m run tomorrow and further tapering, of course, I am concerned that I didn't cover the necessary distance, particularly since I never went much above 35m in a week.

If anyone is wondering, I am 38 and am hoping to finish under 4:15.  Anything closer to 4:00 will be fantastic, but it is all a bit of uncharted territory still...

Thanks for any advice and good luck to all!

• Options

Hi,

The Crowd will carry you through- some programs only go to 20 miles anyway. I have only done 2 x 20 and 1x 22 and I think that is plenty. . You seem to be well on target for a sub 4 Hour run. I'll be twenty minutes behind you.

• Options
    Thanks Jim. You sure have covered the long end of training. I highly doubt that I'll be in front of you, btw.
  • Options
    bit late to jump in, but i am doing thiks

ran it in 2001 and 2002

did a half in 1 43 today, aiming for 3 40
  • Options

Hi all,

How's everyone feeling - this time in 2 weeks we'll all be finished!

How are the shins ffRAN and Sarah?